Debt

ryderw22Tuesday morning at the cafe. My manuscript is marked throughout with notes saying {more here} in all the places where the shovel hit caliche. The {more here}s represent gaps in the dialogue, failed attempts at description or character reaction—places where I couldn’t think of a single damn thing to say. I’m always aware when I add a {more here} that I’ll owe myself the words at some point. Those little flags aren’t going to delete themselves.

So here we are. Seventy-five {more here}s, and me with my coffee, thinking ah, pickles. Now what’ll I do.

What do you owe yourself?

40 responses

    • I hear you. My internet has been on the fritz for two days now, sort of on again, off again, and I can’t say that’s a bad thing for my writing. (Not great for blogging, though, as you can see by today’s shortie.)

  1. Hahaha! Some days I feel like all I do is fill in my ‘MORE HEREs’, only to add more ‘MORE HEREs’. Do-si-do, and round and round we go.

    I owe it to myself, and especially to my mother and grandmother who are gone now, to live a joyful life.

  2. Dignity. Respect. A full night’s sleep . . .

    (You’ve temporarily solved my roadblock problem in the chapter I’m working on: {more here} will do for now! Thanks!)

    • Yay! I’m a little down on the {more here}s at the moment, but in fact they can be helpful. It’s hell to lose momentum over some stupid thing you can’t overcome. Better to slap a post-it on there and keep moving.

  3. I owe myself FOCUS…yes that was me shouting. Pick one and stick to it stupid. Maybe I’m afraid of finishing.

    Girl in the hat had me laughing out loud is an empty room, your reply, put me on the floor.

  4. Your “more here” is my “needs more.” My pages are also liberally sprinkled with “AWK.”

    Sometimes I think I owe it to myself to dig deeper, but I’m not exactly sure how to do that.

  5. I owe myself time. And [more] is standard Indy self-editing. And and and I found a hardcover of “Age of Miracles” for $1 at [residency locale redacted] and it’s terrifying and amazing. Thank you.

  6. I’m working through a list of those myself right now! But adding them is like baking the cake. The MS is going to transform from batter to something beautiful when I add these layers. I’m excited. Good luck!

    • You’re right. You’re right! It’s like baking a cake, sprinkling the jimmies. I need to step out of pickle-mode and enjoy.

      Good luck to you, too, Nia.

  7. My husband is currently reading my…thing, and I’m terrified. I owe myself to take it all in with a grain of salt (he has sat night after night, pencil in hand) and know that while I know what is right for my book, I know what a craftsman he is. He already mentioned one section that stuck out, not it a good way (punny enough, it was a sex scene) but we aren’t going to discuss any of it until he’s all done. I owe it to myself to see it with cold eyes and to handle it without curling up in the fetal position and kicking him to the couch. Not that it’s crossed my mind…

    • Jesus, Mary and Joseph. One more thing to admire about you: letting your husband edit your WIP. You are the bravest person I have ever met. (I am a complete freak where spousal support is concerned. I resent his lack of interest yet have hidden my galleys where he won’t accidentally discover them and start reading. Superfreak!)

      You are the badass I wish I could be, whether you end up huddled in the closet or not.

  8. I owe a debt of truth to those who have passed. I owe a debt of truth to those who will come.

    I do not want to be awake at this hour. I have a job interview in eight hours and have had only two hours’ sleep, but the debts must be paid. Sometimes payment comes due in the middle of the night.